Baby Jenny was brought to PathFinders and subsequently placed into foster care when she was 8 months old having been abandoned by her mother.

When Jenny's mother, Wilamena, was traced, she was homeless. She had not intended to abandon her daughter but leave her with a friend while she laced the resources to feed of care for her. She believed her baby would be in better hands as she'd only been able to feed her discarded, soured milk.

When Jenny turned 18 months, Wilamena wishes to be part of her life again. Still homeless, she moved into PathFinders' Shelter with the hope of rebuilding the relationship, but she struggled to build a bond and repeatedly missed visiting Jenny in her foster home.

It became evident Wilamena was battling a mental illness and needed treatment. Recognising her poor situation (health, financial and immigration status) would make it impossible to provide a bright future for her daughter, Wilamena signed over her parental rights, enabling Jenny to find a permanent loving family.

協助被遺棄的Jenny找到家庭溫暖

Jenny在8個月大的時候被媽媽拋棄,被帶到融幼社後獲安排接受寄養。

我們找到Jenny的媽媽Wilamena的時候,她是個無家者。她的本意並非拋棄女兒,而是將寶貝交託給朋友照顧,再竭力供養孩子。她相信孩子會從他人得到更好的照顧,因為她只能喂孩子變質的奶粉。

當Jenny18個月大的時候,Wilamena想要重回孩子的生活中。仍舊無家可歸,她搬入了融幼社的庇護所,希望可以重建母女關係,可惜她發現很多困難,並頻頻錯過Jenny的探視時間。

我們逐漸察覺Wilamena患有精神問題並且需要治療。當她意識到自己的健康、財政和居留情況使她難以給Jenny一個美好未來,Wilamena正式釋出自己作為母親的權利,使得Jenny能夠獲領養,找到一個永久的有愛家庭。