(+852) 5190 4886

Get Advice

PathFinders provides employers with information about their legal obligation, and recommends options and solutions when their Migrant Domestic Workers are pregnant or on maternity leave. 

Employers of pregnant MDWs can access our practical guidebook, produced jointly with Helpwise, to navigate their next steps.

FAQ

Your rights and obligations as an employer of a pregnant foreign domestic worker

1My Migrant Domestic Worker is pregnant. What should I do?

Understandably, sudden news of your migrant domestic worker being pregnant may bring challenges and mixed feelings - from sharing her joyous anticipation to feeling anxious and worried about how her pregnancy is going to affect the running of your household.

Issues such as whether your domestic worker can cope with the demands of her job while ensuring her safety, and finding alternative care for your young children during the period when she is unable to work, are real and valid concerns.

Understanding your legal rights and obligations as an employer and having an open communication with your domestic worker about the relevant issues are the first steps to tackling the challenges and finding practical solutions.

2Is my Migrant Domestic Worker legally allowed to be pregnant in Hong Kong?

Yes. There is no law prohibiting any female worker in Hong Kong, including migrant domestic workers, from being pregnant.  In fact, it is a right protected by the Hong Kong Bill of Rights. 

3What are my obligations as an employer if my Migrant Domestic Worker is pregnant?

Notification of Pregnancy

You are entitled to ask your domestic worker to provide you with a copy of her medical certificate confirming her pregnancy and the expected date of delivery. 

Safe Working Environment 

If your domestic worker has been advised by a doctor that handling heavy items or performing certain tasks may be harmful to her pregnancy, you may not require her to perform such tasks. You may require her to provide you with a medical certificate confirming such recommendation from the doctor.  

Maternity Leave

Maternity leave in Hong Kong is 14 weeks - up from 10 weeks with effect from 11 December 2020.

If your domestic worker has not notified you of the date she intends to commence her maternity leave,  it would be advisable to discuss and decide this with her; and find out whether she plans to stay in Hong Kong or return to her home country during her leave. 

Maternity Leave Pay

If you have employed your domestic worker for not less than 40 weeks immediately before the start of her maternity leave, you also have an obligation to pay her maternity leave pay. This is calculated as four-fifth or 80% of her normal wages. Maternity leave pay is due on your domestic worker’s normal pay day and must be paid within 7 days. 

If you have employed her for at least 4 weeks but less than 40 weeks, then she is entitled to maternity leave without pay.

Example:

If a Migrant Domestic Worker began employment with an employer on 1st January 2019 and begins taking maternity leave from 1 February 2020, she is entitled to maternity leave  pay. If her monthly salary is $4,520, her total maternity leave pay would be calculated as follows:

Daily rate: $4520/365 x 12 x ⅘ = $118.88

Total maternity leave pay over the 14 week period: $118.88 x 98 days = $11,650.24

4Can I terminate my Migrant Domestic Worker’s contract after she informs me that she is pregnant?

No. Under the Hong Kong Employment Ordinance, unless you have a valid reason, it is unlawful for you to dismiss a pregnant migrant domestic worker from the date her pregnancy was confirmed up to the date of the expiry of her maternity leave.

If you dismiss a pregnant domestic worker without a valid ground, you may be liable to prosecution and, if found guilty, to a fine of up to $100,000. 

Valid grounds for termination include, but are not limited to: (1) wilful disobedience of a reasonable and lawful order, (2) serious misconduct, (3) habitual neglect of duties, (4) fraud or dishonesty.

If you dismiss your domestic worker on the grounds of her pregnancy, this is also a breach of the Sex Discrimination Ordinance. 

5What should I do if my Migrant Domestic Worker informs me that she is pregnant immediately after I have given her a notice of termination?

Under the law, you have to immediately withdraw the termination, unless there is a valid reason for such termination. 

6I only found out about my Migrant Domestic Worker's pregnancy after she has given birth. I am feeling very upset. Why didn't she tell me earlier?

It is understandably very upsetting not to find out about the news earlier. Early notification can indeed benefit both employers and domestic workers in coming up with win-win plans.

It often takes a lot of bravery for a Migrant Domestic Worker to tell her employer that she is pregnant. The fear of being dismissed from her job is a real concern for many domestic workers. 

For some domestic workers whose pregnancies were planned, the pregnancy can be a joyous anticipation. But for many others, love scams and the lack of reproductive health knowledge (ie. family planning and contraceptives) can lead to a domestic worker’s unexpected pregnancy. When that happens, often the domestic worker may feel confusion or anxiety about the future.

Give yourself a bit of time to process the news. When you are ready, have an honest conversation with your domestic worker. Focus on connecting and being solution-focused. It is never too late to come up with a viable plan that works for both parties. This step-by-step guide could help you navigate your next steps.

7I am concerned about how I will be able to manage with a pregnant Migrant Domestic Worker. I need information on what my options are.

We understand that dealing with the various issues associated with having a pregnant Migrant Domestic Worker can be overwhelming.

For further information on how these issues can be addressed, please refer to our guide book which will walk you through a step by step process to find practical solutions.

8Do I have to pay for my Migrant Domestic Worker’s pregnancy-related expenses?

No. Your domestic worker is responsible for all the expenses related to her pregnancy and the delivery of her baby, including medical fees and her baby’s needs.

9Can my Migrant Domestic Worker have her baby in Hong Kong?

Yes. However, she would need to be aware this does not necessarily mean her baby will automatically gain permanent residency status in Hong Kong. If the child is born in Hong Kong and has a parent who is a Hong Kong Permanent Resident, the child may be eligible for right of abode.

10Do I have an obligation to provide accommodation to my Migrant Domestic Worker’s child as well?

You are not obligated to provide accommodation to your domestic worker’s child, but you may allow the child to live with the mother in your home if you wish.  

11Can my Migrant Domestic Worker access antenatal, obstetrics and postnatal care in Hong Kong?

Yes. Your domestic worker can utilise antenatal and obstetric services at local public hospitals and Maternity and Child Health Centres (MCHC), at the same affordable cost as local residents. Postnatal services are also available for her and her baby at the MCHC.

Antenatal and postnatal services are free for holders of a HKID card. Your domestic worker will need to visit the hospital and MCHC located in the same district as her listed address.

Note: Helper insurance policies in Hong Kong exclude pregnancy and childbirth.

12Can my Migrant Domestic Worker take time-off when she goes for her medical check-ups?

Yes. If your domestic worker needs to attend a medical examination in relation to her pregnancy or require medical treatment after she has given birth, any day on which she is absent from work for such examination or treatment will be considered a paid sickness day which means she is entitled to sickness allowance.

13My family would like our Migrant Domestic Worker to raise her baby with us in Hong Kong. What challenges should we be prepared for? Would the child be eligible for education and health care in Hong Kong?

It is not easy for Migrant Domestic Workers to raise their children in Hong Kong, as successful integration of their work and family life can be very challenging. Domestic workers would need to be prepared for the many adjustments to their work routine whilst attending to the needs of their babies. If the domestic workers are new mothers, the adjustment period could be even tougher.

Babies require a lot of care round the clock – and this can be very exhausting for their caregivers. Coupled that with the need to fulfil their job responsibilities, many domestic workers will find this situation extremely stressful and overwhelming. This is especially so when domestic workers receive little or no support from their partners or family members. The support of employers, such as yourself, can certainly help in this journey.

Just as your domestic worker will face a challenging period of adjustment, you and your family would have your own set of challenges too. For a start, your household would need to adapt to a young child sharing your home. This may not be easy, especially in the first few months, as newborn babies tend to cry frequently. You might also need to moderate your expectations of your FDW’s work performance, and allow some flexibility so she can tweak her daily work routine to realistically meet the needs of her baby. In essence, both parties should be well-prepared for the transition. This period of adjustment, if poorly managed, could cause tension and disagreements; not to mention disruption to both families.

It would be ideal for employers and domestic workers to communicate and openly discuss these issues ahead of time, and agree on a plan that works for both. Bear in mind too that children’s needs evolve as they grow, so it’s also important for both parties to have an open mind and have frequent honest conversations to make this situation work.

A simple tip that could help both parties manage better is switching to online grocery shopping and have the items delivered to your doorstep. Another tip is letting your domestic worker have frequent short breaks during the day (say during feeding times) to better manage her energy levels, which in turn will help her manage her job duties better.

Once your domestic worker’s baby is born, she should promptly apply for his birth certificate, passport and dependent visa. The baby’s dependent visa will be attached to his passport. With the dependent visa, your domestic worker’s child will be able to live, study and access public health care in Hong Kong.

 

Maternity leave arrangement

1Is my Migrant Domestic Worker entitled to maternity leave?

All pregnant female employees in Hong Kong, including Migrant Domestic Workers who have been employed under a continuous contract (i.e. not less than 4 weeks) are entitled to 14* weeks of maternity leave which may commence from 2 to 4 weeks before her expected date of delivery.  

* With effect from 11 December 2020, maternity leave is extended from 10 to 14 weeks.

2Can my Migrant Domestic Worker live out during her maternity leave?

Under the standard employment contract for Migrant Domestic Workers, they may only reside in the home of their employer at the address specified in the contract. There is no exception for when a domestic worker is on maternity leave unless she takes her leave outside Hong Kong.

While it may be possible to request permission from the Labour and Immigration Department to allow your domestic worker to stay in an alternative accommodation, this is rarely granted and only in exceptional circumstances. 

3Is my Migrant Domestic Worker entitled to maternity leave pay?

If you have employed your domestic worker for not less than 40 weeks immediately before the start of her maternity leave, you also have an obligation to pay her maternity leave pay. This is calculated as four-fifth or 80% of her normal wages. Maternity leave pay is due on your domestic worker’s normal pay day and must be paid within 7 days. 

If you have employed her for at least 4 weeks but less than 40 weeks, then she is entitled to maternity leave without pay.

Example:

If a Migrant Domestic Worker began employment with an employer on 1st January 2019 and begins taking maternity leave from 1 February 2020, she is entitled to maternity leave  pay. If her monthly salary is $4,520, her total maternity leave pay would be calculated as follows:

Daily rate: $4520/365 x 12 x ⅘ = $118.88

Total maternity leave pay over the 14 week period: $118.88 x 98 days = $11,650.24

4If my Migrant Domestic Worker decides to return to her home country during her maternity leave, what are the things that we need to consider?

Travel Restrictions

You need to be aware that airlines have restrictions on pregnant travellers. Most airlines do not accept passengers who are more than 35 weeks pregnant. You may wish to discuss the possibility of your domestic worker taking an earlier leave, whether paid or unpaid, before her scheduled maternity leave, while she can still travel by air.

Payment of Maternity Leave Salary

You may also wish to discuss with her the options for paying her during maternity leave. If she does not have a Hong Kong bank account, it would be convenient for you both if she sets one up before she leaves Hong Kong. She will also need to ensure she can access the bank account while outside Hong Kong to be able to receive your  payments to her account. Your domestic worker can find out more about how to open a bank account in Hong Kong here.

You and your domestic worker can also consider platforms such as WeChat Pay for convenient salary transfer.

5Am I responsible for paying for my Migrant Domestic Worker’s flight if she decides to return to her home country during her maternity leave?

No, your domestic worker is responsible for her own  travel expenses if she returns to her home country during her maternity leave. If you do offer to pay for her airfare so that she can travel home, clarify to her whether it is a gift or a loan that must be repaid at a later date to avoid any misunderstanding. 

There is no statutory guideline for employers to provide meal allowance to their domestic workers during maternity leave. However, it is always good to discuss this with your domestic worker, so you are both in agreement.

6Useful Links

We recognise that there may be difficulties in hiring a substitute Migrant Domestic Worker (MDW) whilst your MDW is on maternity leave.

As you are not allowed to employ a MDW on a part-time basis, especially one who is on a full-time contract with another employer; you may wish to consider hiring a temporary part-time local domestic worker who does not require a visa, or part-time cleaners and/or babysitters.  You may also wish to consider seeking help and support from friends, relatives and your trusted contacts from religious, interest and support groups during this time. 

More information about hiring local domestic helpers can be found here.

Here are some resources for you to consider:

Local Domestic Help

Home Cleaning

Child Care

Elder Care

The above information, accurate as at November 2020, is provided as resources and not necessarily endorsed by PathFinders.

+852 5190 4886 (外傭) + 852 5500 5486 (僱主和外傭中介公司)

提供建議

融幼社旨在提供實用的建議和幫助,以保障各方(外傭、僱主、尤其是未出生嬰兒)的最大利益。

我們為外傭和僱主提供有用的資源。 外傭可以在此查看我們的實用資訊卡。 懷孕外傭的僱主可以翻閱實用指南,以了解作為僱主可行的下一步。

您也可以查看聯合國移民署發表的資訊卡,了解更多有關提供外傭及外傭僱主幫助和有趣課程的香港組織。

常見問題

作為懷孕外傭的僱主,你的權利與責任

1我的外傭懷孕了,我應該怎樣做?

我們可以理解您因突然得知外傭懷孕的消息而引致的複雜心情:分享外傭的喜悅,卻擔憂她的懷孕可能影響你的家庭運作。問題的確存在;你的外傭能否應付工作需求,同時確保其安全;當她不能工作時,您可能需要尋求照顧你的幼兒的替代方案等等。處理挑戰及尋找可行方案的第一步是:明白作為僱主的法律權利及義務、與外傭開心見誠地就相關問題溝通。

2我的外傭在香港懷孕是否合法?

是的。沒有法律禁止任何在港的女性僱員(包括外傭)懷孕。事實上,這是受香港人權法案所保障的權利。

3當我的外傭懷孕時, 作為僱主,我有什麼權利與義務?

你有權要求你的外傭提供證實懷孕及預產期的醫生證明書 。 

如醫生曾向你的外傭建議處理重物或進行某些工作可能對她的懷孕造成不良影響,你則不能要求她進行有關工作。你可能要求她向你提供相關建議的醫生證明書。
 
若你的外傭沒有向你提出選擇產假的日期,你應與外傭討論並決定產假的日期,以及在產假期間她是否打算留在香港或回國。

如果你在產假前僱用外傭不少於40週,你則有義務支付其產假工資。該支付的工資為她正常工資的五分之四或80個百分比。如果你僱用她不少於4週但不多於40週,她則有權放取無薪產假。

產假工資應在外傭的正常發薪日支付,並且必須在7天內支付。

4外傭通知我她懷孕後,我可以終止其合同嗎?

不可以。根據《香港僱傭條例》,除非你有正當理由,否則從經醫生證明書證實懷孕之日起至產假結束而應復工之日為止,解僱懷孕的外傭都是非法的。

如果你在沒有正當理由的情況下解僱懷孕的外傭,則可能會被起訴。一經定罪,可處以最高100,000港元的罰款。

終止合同的正當理由包括但不限於:(1)故意違反合理和合法的命令;(2)嚴重的不當行為;(3)慣於疏忽職守;(4)欺詐或不誠實行為。

如果您以懷孕為由解僱外傭,這也違反了《性別歧視條例》。
 

5如果在我通知外傭終止合約後,她立即告知我她懷孕,我該怎麼辦?

根據法律,除非有合理的理由終止合同,否則你必須立即撤回終止合同。

6我的外傭可以在香港分娩嗎?

可以。然而,她需要留意這並不一定意味著她的孩子會自動獲得香港永久居留權。如果孩子在香港出生,並且父母最少其中一方是香港永久性居民,則該孩子有可能獲得居留權。

7我擔心自己能否處理外傭懷孕帶來的挑戰。我可以怎樣取得更多資訊,以了解我作為僱主的選擇?

我們明白,處理與懷孕的外傭有關的各種問題可能會令人不知所措。有關如何解決這些問題的更多信息,請參閱我們的指南,該指南將逐步引導你找到實用的解決方案。

8我必須支付外傭懷孕的相關費用嗎?

不需要。您的外傭須承擔與懷孕和分娩有關的所有費用,包括醫療費和嬰兒的需求。

9我有責任為外傭的孩子提供住宿嗎?

您沒有責任為外傭的孩子提供住宿,但是如果您願意,您可以允許該孩子與母親一起居住。

10我的外傭可以在香港接受產前,產後和其他產科檢查和護理嗎?

可以。您的外傭可以在本地公立醫院和母嬰健康院(MCHC)享受產科服務,費用與香港居民相同。 母嬰健康院亦會還為她和她的嬰兒提供產後服務。

香港身分證卡持有人能免費享受產前和產後服務。您的外傭需要去位於與她登記地址同一地區的醫院和母嬰健康院登記及接受服務。

11我的外傭可以請假去做身體檢查嗎?

可以。如果您的外傭需要接受產科相關的身體檢查或是產後治療,她因進行檢查或治療而缺勤的日子將被視為有薪病假,這意味著她有權獲得疾病津貼。外傭須向僱主提交有效醫生證明書或病假紙。

12我在我的外傭分娩後才得知她懷孕了。 我非常煩惱和不開心。 她為什麼不早點告訴我?

我們非常理解這確是會讓人十分沮喪。外傭若能提前通知僱主她懷孕了,這樣確實可以使雙方更有效地共同制定應對方案。然而大多數時候,外傭需要無比勇氣才能去告訴她的傭主她懷孕了。 她們最擔憂的是會因為懷孕而被解僱。

對於某些已有計劃懷孕的外傭來說,懷孕是一件喜事。 但是對於許多其他外傭而言,她們可能因誤墮愛情陷阱或缺乏生殖健康知識(計劃生育和避孕知識等)而意外懷孕。 發生這種情況時,她們會對未來異常困惑和焦慮,不知所措。

我們建議您給自己一點時間來了解情況。 準備好後,與您的外傭次開心見誠交談。 專注於與她情感上的交流。 您也可以參考這指南,與她一同制定適用雙方的可行解決方案。

13我的家人希望我們的外傭在香港與我們一起長期撫養她的孩子。 我們應該為哪些挑戰做好準備? 孩子能在香港接受教育和醫療嗎?

外傭要在香港撫養子女並非一件容易的事,因為她們要成功平衡工作和個人家庭生活。 在照顧嬰兒的同時,外傭更需要好好調整工作安排。 如果外傭是初為人母,那麼調整期可能更長更艱難。嬰兒常需要全天候的照顧,這對於他們的照料者來說是疲累不已。 再加上她們需要履行其工作職責,許多外傭會覺得極度受壓和不堪重負,尤其當她們沒有得到伴侶或家人的支持時。 對她們而言,僱主您的支持與幫助在此階段是特別意義重大。

如您的外傭一樣,您和您的家人也將面臨一系列的挑戰。 首先,您需要適應在您的家有一個初生嬰兒。這在最初的幾個月中可能會對您造成頗大的困擾,因為新生嬰兒往往會經常哭泣。 您還需要降低對外傭工作表現的期望,並留出一定的靈活性,以便她可以調整日常工作以騰出時間來照顧嬰兒。 雙方都應為此過渡期做好充分的準備。 如果磨合不好,這調整期內可能會引起雙方緊張和分歧, 更不用說對兩個家庭的關係的破壞。

僱主和外傭提前溝通和公開討論以上問題並制定一個對雙方都適用的計劃是十分重要的。 也請您注意,嬰兒的需求會隨著他們的成長而改變,因此您和您的外傭都應保持開放的心態,經常進行開心見誠的對話,了解雙方需要。

小貼士:從超市切換到網上購物,將商品到您家門口交付。

另一個小貼士:讓您的外傭在白天有多一點的短暫休息時間,譬如在餵母乳時,好讓她更好地恢復能量。這反過來又可以使她更好地履行自己的工作職責。

孩子出生後,外傭應立即申請為他領取出生證明(出世紙),護照和受養人簽證。 嬰兒的受養人簽證將附在他的護照上。 持受養人簽證後,您的外傭的孩子將能夠在香港生活,上學和享用公共醫療服務。

產假安排

1我的外傭有權放取產假嗎?

在香港,所有懷孕的女僱員,包括受僱於連續性合同(即不少於4週)的外傭,均可享有10週的產假,產假可從其預期分娩日期的2至4週前開始。

2我的外傭在產假期間可以在外居住嗎?

根據外傭的標準僱用合同,她們只能在合同規定的僱主住所中居住。除非外傭在香港以外的地方休假, 否則在產假期間也沒有例外。雖然可以徵求勞工處和入境事務處的許可,以允許你的外傭住在另一住所中居住,但在極少數及特殊情況下才可獲得批准。

3我的外傭有權獲得產假薪酬嗎?

如您的外傭在產假開始前按合約為僱主服務的時間不少於40週 ,您有義務要支付產假薪酬給她。產假薪酬相等於外傭平均工資的五分之四,而薪酬應於外傭的正常出糧日支付,並且必須在7天內支付。

如果您僱用她至少4週但少於40週,則她有權享有無薪休產假。

 

例子:

如果外傭於2019年1月1日開始任職,並從2020年2月1日開始休產假,則她有權獲得產假薪酬。 如果她的月薪為$ 4,520,則其產假總薪酬將計算如下:

每日工資:$4520/365 x 12 x ⅘ = $118.88

14週產假總工資:$118.88 x 98日 = $11,650.24

 

4如果我的外傭決定在產假期間返回家鄉,我們需要考慮什麼?

您需要注意航空公司對懷孕旅客的限制。大多數航空公司不接受懷孕超過35週的乘客。您可能希望與外傭討論,提早在產假前放有薪假或無薪假的可能性,從而她仍然可以乘飛機。

此外,您可能希望與她討論於產假期間支付薪水的選項。如果她沒有香港銀行帳戶,在離開香港之前先設置一個香港銀行帳戶對雙方都較為方便。她還需要確保她可以在香港以外的地方在該銀行帳戶存取,以便接收您在該銀行帳戶發出的薪金。您的外傭可以在這裡找到更多有關如何在香港開設銀行帳戶的信息:https://enrichhk.org/what-are-requirements-if-i-want-open-bank-account-here-hong-kong

5如果我的外傭決定在產假期間返回家鄉,我需要為她的機票付款嗎?

 

不用,如果您的外傭在產假期間返回家鄉,她需要承擔自己的旅費。如果您願意支付她的機票費用以便她回家,請向她說明這是禮物還是必須稍後償還的貸款,以免造成誤會。

沒有法定指引要求僱主在外傭產假期間向其提供伙食津貼。然而,您可以與外傭討論此事,達成共識。

6有用連結

我們留意到,在你的外傭放取產假期間,你可能會在僱用替代外傭時遇到困難。由於你不可以僱用以兼職形式外傭,特別是與另一位僱主簽訂了全職合同的外傭,你可能考慮僱用不需要簽證的短期兼職本地幫傭,或兼職清潔工和/或保姆。你不妨考慮在這段時間尋求朋友、親戚及你信任的宗教、興趣和支援團體的幫助和支持。 

有關僱用本地家庭傭工的更多信息,請參見:
http://www.gov.hk/en/residents/employment/recruitment/localdomestichelper.htm

本地家庭傭工

僱員再培訓局 樂活一站:www.erb.org/smartliving

HelloToby:www.hellotoby.com

智舒適:www.shome.com.hk

家居清潔

Merry Maids:http://www.merrymaids.com.hk/

Top Maids Home Cleaning Co: http://www.topmaid.com.hk

Lazy: www.lazy.com.hk


育兒

尋寶網: www.babysitter.hk

Rent-a-Mum: www.rent-a-mum.com

The Nanny Experts: www.thenannyexperts.hk

長者護理

僱員再培訓局 樂活一站:www.erb.org/smartliving

活力國際專業護理:www.activeglobalcaregiver.hk

以上信息更新於2020年4月,僅供參考,並不代表融幼社的立場。